Posted on

Of People, pot, and kittens

For me, the best thing you can do in life is love your brothers and sisters. In this prejudice, bias, and straight up judgemental society, even I find that hard to achieve. 

Leonard Cohen said it best, “All I’ve ever learned from love was how to shoot somebody who outdrew ya.” Many of us categorize love as “that thing everyone wants, everyone is harmed by, and everyone takes for granted,” but in the last few years I have learned that love isn’t just a thing, it is everything. Everything imaginable. Athiests close your eyes, but love is god. 

I would say I have grown more in the past year than in the entirety of my life. I have started community college, experienced my first car accident, and parted ways with the love of my life. 

My ex-girlfriend was my best friend, my lover, and my everything at one point. I never knew what love was before her, and in the time we spent together I would say I mastered it(I haven’t). When we broke up my mind was confused. Everything I lived for before that point was gone, and in some way I felt unmotivated to do anything. I failed many of my classes in high school because I didn’t feel like it was worth anything. Big regret.

In some kind of miracle and good grace of my educational system, I was able to complete high school and start college. I have always been interested in history, so taking a history class was a no-brainer for me. But, it is what I learned in that history class that would forever change my way of thinking. It wasn’t the history that impacted me, but the professor. From the moment he started talking I knew he something great. With the details aside, he told the class that by the time chritstmas came around, we would all have tickets into heaven. It probably isn’t right to say that, but he was definitely right. Through out the semester, he always concentrated on Socrates. Socrates taught the world a lot, but one thing sticks out the most, love. To paraphrase him, he said, “I am not wise, all I know is love.” And after I heard that my mind wasn’t confused anymore. I felt enlightened. 

About five months ago, I was rear-ended. Hard. I wasn’t hurt(knock on wood), but I would say it was a life-changing moment. I became closer to god. I stopped smoking so much fucking weed. But best of all, I have set out to show the world for what it truly is: Love. 

I try to act more like Socrates. I try to teach people things, not things they want to hear, but things they need to hear. For a lot of people, I can see how it might get annoying. I try to say it in an entertaining way, but as you can tell by this blog post, I’m not the best at that.

On the internet, you can decide whether things are worth your time, or just spam. Sometimes in real life, I feel as if people are trying to label me as spam. Well, I must say, I am going to be a more persistent spam than penis enlargments or “hot girls in my area.” 

Do not fear, for I will show the world for what it truly is. One post, one comment, and one sticker on a sign at a time. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

